website statistics
fb YT Twit

Follow us on Social Media


AANDC-AADNC Fire Prevention & Awareness
Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs
Canadian Fallen Firefighters' Foundation
National Fire Protection Association
First Nations National Building Officers Association

About Us


The Aboriginal Firefighters Association of Canada (AFAC) is united body of regional First Nations Fire Protection Associations from across Canada established to:

AFAC operates as a consortium of Regional Aboriginal Fire & Emergency Services organizations to work in collaboration towards AFAC’s mission statement. Each regional organization nominates a representative to sit on the AFAC Board. Due to limited funding, AFAC can only accept one representative for each region regardless of the number of regional organizations, political associations or cultural diversity within the region.

We do not have the resources to maintain an active individual membership roster or provide services to individuals. However, anyone 18 or older who volunteers with or is employed by a First Nation Firefighter organization or any First Nations person working in the Fire Service and residing in Canada, and who is in agreement with our mission may consider themselves an associate member.

Watch this video to learn more about our programs and mandate

The video file size has been reduced for You Tube.
You can download the full 312MB High Definition video by clicking here or reduced to 167MB here


September 19th 1991 - Portage La Prairie, MB
AFAC was founded when a group of fire service personnel from across Canada committed to forming a national aboriginal firefighters association.

June 23rd 1992 - Fredericton, NB
The Assembly of First Nations passed a resolution officially recognizing AFAC.*

April 21st 1995
AFAC was incorporated in accordance with Section 65 of the Canada Corporations Act.

* This link opens a document in Adobe Acrobat, you can download the reader for free here.

Board of Directors

Arnold Lazare Richard Kent

President - Arnold Lazare, Collaboration Director
Term 2018 to 2020

Vice President - Richard Kent, Saskatchewan region representative
Term 2017 to 2019

Secretary / Treasurer - Allan Peters, Atlantic region representative
Term: 2016 to 2019

Billy Moffat VACANT

Director - William (Billy) Moffat, Quebec Region representative

Leon Smallboy, Alberta representative

VACANT, BC representative

VACANT Melvin McLeod
VACANT, Manitoba representative

Jerry Anilniliak, Nunavut region representative

Melvin McLeod, Ontario region representative
Blaine Wiggins

Executive Director - Blaine Wiggins

^^^ back to top ^^^

Constitution & Bylaws

Click here* for a copy of the Association's current Constitution and Bylaws.

Audited Financial Statements

Click here* for our audited financial statements

Annual Reports

2017/18 Fiscal Year*

2016/17 Fiscal Year*

2015/16 Fiscal Year*

2014/15 Fiscal Year*

2013/14 Fiscal Year*

2012/13 Fiscal Year*

2011/12 Fiscal Year*

2010/11 Fiscal Year*

2009/10 Fiscal Year*

* This link opens a document in Adobe Acrobat, you can download the reader for free here.

Contact Us


Telephone: 1(250) 267 2579

Mail: 7-3405 Mountain House RD, Williams Lake, BC V2G 5L5


^^^ back to top ^^^